GE Profile PVD28BYNFS review: four door refrigerator with Wi-Fi and TwinChill

  • A 36 inch four door French door refrigerator, listed at 27.6 cubic feet in the description and 27.9 in the spec table.
  • TwinChill dual evaporators separate fridge and freezer air, which is what keeps odors from crossing over.
  • Built in Wi-Fi is named in the listing, and all core cooling functions work without it.
  • Rated at 120 volts and Energy Star certified, with a one year warranty stated.
SKU: B07ZL2VL1Q Category:

Description

What the PVD28BYNFS is and where it fits

This is GE Profile’s 36 inch four door layout: two French doors over a convertible middle drawer and a bottom freezer. That configuration exists to solve one problem, which is that a full width freezer drawer forces you to bend for frozen food you use every day. Splitting the lower half gives a shallow drawer at waist height that can be run at fridge or freezer temperature depending on the season and what the household actually stores. GE lists total capacity as 27.6 cubic feet in the product description and 27.9 cubic feet in the specification table, and there is no way to reconcile those two from the listing alone, so both figures should be treated as approximate until the model specification sheet is checked. The stated cabinet dimensions are 36.75 by 35.63 by 70 inches, and the unit weighs 388 pounds, which is a two person delivery at minimum.

Living with it day to day

The feature that changes daily behavior most is TwinChill, GE’s name for running separate evaporators for the fresh food and freezer sections. A single evaporator design shares air between compartments, which is why a strong smelling cheese can end up flavoring ice. Two evaporators keep the air paths apart and let each compartment hold its own humidity, so produce stays crisp longer and ice tastes like water. The practical cost of two evaporators is two fans, which means a slightly busier machine acoustically, and GE does not publish a decibel figure in this listing, so noise cannot be quoted here.

Storage is organized around four shelves, adjustable door storage, gallon door bins and tilt pocket door bins, which is a sensible set for a household that keeps a lot of bottles, though anyone storing drinks in real volume will still get more usable space from a dedicated unit like the Zephyr PRB24C01CPG beverage refrigerator. The LED light tower named in GE’s description is a vertical strip rather than a ceiling panel, and the difference is that a tower lights the lower shelves that a top mounted light leaves in shadow. Four doors also means four gaskets and four handled surfaces on a fingerprint resistant stainless front, so the finish choice earns its keep. Anyone weighing this against a two door layout should compare it with a conventional French door such as the GE GFE28GYNFS, where the whole lower cabinet is one freezer.

Controls and connected features

Built in Wi-Fi is stated in GE’s description, and this is where a buyer should be careful about expectations. The listing names the radio and the Energy Star certification but does not enumerate what the app can do, so the honest position is that connectivity exists and the specific functions need confirming from GE’s own documentation for this model. What can be said with confidence is the part that matters if a service is ever retired: a refrigerator’s cooling, defrost, ice making and dispensing are all controlled on board, and none of them depend on a network. Losing app access on a refrigerator costs notifications and remote adjustment, not refrigeration. That is a different risk profile from an appliance where the app is the only interface, and it is the reason connectivity on a refrigerator is a convenience rather than a dependency.

Running cost and upkeep

The electrical facts here are stated plainly, which is welcome: 120 volts, a plug in appliance on standard North American household power. GE does not publish an amperage or a dedicated circuit requirement in this listing, so the installation instructions remain the authority on the branch circuit. Energy Star certification is stated, but no annual kilowatt hour figure appears, so a running cost cannot be calculated from this listing the way it can for models that publish consumption. Anyone who wants to compare energy on paper should look for the yellow EnergyGuide figure, and the LG LMXS28626S is a useful reference point because its listing does publish an annual consumption number.

Upkeep divides into three jobs. Water filtration is the recurring cost on any refrigerator with a dispenser or an automatic ice maker, typically a cartridge every six months, and this listing does not name the filter part, so the cost needs confirming from the model documentation. Condenser coil cleaning once or twice a year is the maintenance that most affects longevity, especially in a house with pets. And the four gaskets need wiping, because a door that stops sealing on a four door cabinet is a much bigger energy penalty than on a two door. The stated warranty in this listing is one year, which is short for an appliance at this weight and price class, and it is worth checking whether GE offers a longer sealed system term separately. A water line is required for ice and dispensing, and the listing does not specify the connection, pressure or whether a kit is included.

Highlights

  • Four door layout with a convertible middle drawer, which keeps everyday frozen items at waist height.
  • TwinChill dual evaporators keep fridge and freezer air separate for humidity and odor control.
  • Built in Wi-Fi is named in the listing, with all cooling functions independent of the network.
  • Electrical supply is stated clearly at 120 volts, which many listings in this category omit.
  • Energy Star certified, with LED light tower and fingerprint resistant stainless finish.
  • Adjustable, gallon and tilt pocket door storage across four doors.

Things To Consider

  • Total capacity is given as 27.6 cubic feet in the description and 27.9 in the spec table, a contradiction the listing does not resolve.
  • The Wi-Fi feature is named but its functions are not enumerated anywhere in the listing.
  • No annual energy consumption figure is published despite the Energy Star claim.
  • The stated warranty is one year, which is short for a 388 pound appliance.
  • No decibel rating is published, and two evaporators means two fans.
  • Water line requirement for ice and dispensing is not specified in the listing.

Who it is not for

Four door refrigerators cost more to buy and more to service than two door equivalents, and the convertible drawer is the only functional reason to pay that premium. A household that never changes what it stores will not use it, and would do better with a simpler cabinet. Anyone in a narrow kitchen should also think twice, because a pair of French doors needs more clearance in front than the half width doors of a side by side such as the Samsung RS27T5200SR. And anyone shopping on a strict budget should note that the smart features and the second evaporator are exactly what the money buys, neither of which affects how cold the food gets. The rest of the refrigerators covered here include several simpler cabinets at the same capacity.

Additional information

Product Dimensions

36.75 x 35.63 x 70 inches

Manufacturer

GE Profile

Item model number

PVD28BYNFS

Form Factor

French Door

Finish types

Fingerprint Resistant Stainless Steel

Specifications

energy star certified

Warranty Description

1 Year

Number of shelves

4

Batteries required

No

Included Components

Adjustable Door Storage, Gallon Door Storage, Tilt Pocket Door Bins

Item Weight

388 Pounds

Capacity

27.9 Cubic Feet

Number Of Doors

4

Voltage

120 Volts